on processing

I started to toy with the processing program used for this course.  I have a basic understanding of C++ and I immediately recognized the language while sifting through the different examples on the site.  One of the most striking characteristic of this program is the simple GUI.  I’m always a fan of simplicity and have an appreciation for powerful tools, and I do feel that this will become a favorite of mine.  I’m glad that we’re not learning flash in this course, to be honest, because I’m sick of watching it struggle and fail on several of my computers.  There are better technologies out there, and I’d much rather learn those languages instead.

Processing is rather simple.  Script, save, play.  If something breaks, or code miswritten, the program alerts you rather than crashing everything in sight.  I chose the “animator” example because I like interaction.  I made this grid system using moving dots, and it was actually pretty fun to watch.

The code wasn’t that complicated either.  A copy of the script can be found here if you want to try it out.

Leave a Reply

